Too Faced A’ La Mode Eye Shadow Collection Review

20140714_130023

 

Hello Lovelies,

My apologies for the lack of post lately. Work has been hectic and then I was sick for most of last week. Which was definitely not fun. I’m back now though and ready to give my review of these lovely eye shadows!

This is really my first purchase from Too Faced and I wasn’t sure what to expect. Especially since I have always bought eye shadows from drugstore brands like Maybelline and Revlon etc. I mean how different can they be? I’m still not sure if I can answer that question, but I do love this collection of eye shadows.

I think I mentioned in a previous post that I was tossing up between this one and the natural eye one they do. The A La Mode inspired by the French Riviera is a limited edition. The packaging is tin and nice and solid. I don’t feel super confident travelling with it, although it hasn’t come under on me yet. The magnets that hold the lid together just don’t feel as strong as they could be.

I really like the warmer tones and the pops of bright colour to choose from. The eye shadow is a lovely fine powder consistency and easy to blend. As you can see below, there are three “looks” however I find that the colours mix and match really beautifully. The collection comes with an instruction booklet (for those of you who are as clueless as I am!) which is helpful, although I find I don’t tend to use it.

20140714_130308

I tend to use the Classic and Day colours the most, with Riviera (which I generally use as a base), Cannes and Jardin being my favourites. I like to use La Croisette in the corners of my eyes just to brighten them a bit. I do like how you can build the colour so that you can have a softer look for day time or work. If I can’t be bothered with eyeliner Soleil or Cote d’ Azur are great for day or De La Me’ for a more dramatic/smoky eye look. You can  of course use the colours on their own as well.

I did try to get some swatches, but they are a bit hard to see on my pale skin! I will try and add some later.

I really love these colours and I have been having a lot of fun playing around with them. I also like that I can wear them day to day. They wear really well too. I have been using a primer underneath and I find that they will last the day this way. I tend to like gold, peachy and copper tones so this suits me perfectly.

I am really super happy with this purchase and cannot wait until I can afford another collection like this (still lusting after Urban Decay 3!!). I would definitely recommend Too Faced eye shadows and will definitely looking to add more to my make up collection.

Hope you are having an amazing day!!

 

 

 

Xx.

 

 

 

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “Too Faced A’ La Mode Eye Shadow Collection Review

    • I was a bit unsure about it too. However I actually don’t mind the look of it on, although more for a night out than work!!.

      I have seen a newer version of this pallete with green instead of the pink colour, which looks nice as well

      The other colours are awesome though!

      Like

Leave a Reply

