Luxe VS Less : In Shower Body Conditoners.

20140623_170712[1]

Hello Lovelies 🙂

I’m sorry I have been a bit less frequent in my posting lately. I’ve been settling in to my new job and haven’t been able to post as much as I would like. I am getting back on track though and I’ll be scheduling posts (as soon as I get the hang of it!) to keep them more frequent.

This post is the first in (hopefully) a new series of posts I want to do. I don’t know about you, but I don’t have a huge beauty budget and I often wonder whether it is worth paying more for a product if a there is a cheaper alternative. So here I will be looking at similar products at different price points and seeing which has the most bang for your buck. Let me know if you like it and want me to keep doing them 🙂

I am going to start with th In Shower Body Conditioners. There does only seem to be two on the market (that I am aware of) Nivea’s In Shower Smooth Lotion and Lush’s Ro’s Argan Body Conditioner. 

I really like the idea of these in-shower products. I know that on work days I am always in a rush so moisturizing in the shower is a great time saver. I also like using them in winter with my body lotion as my skin gets quite dry. Not every day, but just when I feel my skin needs a bit of extra love.

LESS/Budget: 

20140619_172849[1]

Last time I bought this I thought it was ok, but I didn’t repurchase it (not sure I even used up the whole thing…) and I couldn’t remember why. In the meantime I had purchased the Ro’s Argan Body Conditioner from Lush after hearing rave reviews about it on YouTube. So I thought it would be good to try it again and see how it compared to Lush’s product.

Left: Ro's Argan Body Condition. Right Nivea In-Shower Skin Conditioner

Left: Ro’s Argan Body Condition.
Right Nivea In-Shower Skin Conditioner

It has a thicker consistency, than the Ro’s Argan Body Conditioner and has that typical “Nivea” scent to it. Which I like, it smells fresh and clean to me. Maybe because it is a cheaper product and I wasn’t so worried about wasting it, but I felt like I had to use a lot more product than with the Lush version. Nivea’s In-Shower Body Conditioner feels very much like a conditioner. Like I could just use my actual hair conditioner instead and it would feel much the same.

After I washed it off my skin did feel smooth. Although once I was out of the shower it felt a bit residue for a little. Not exactly nice. I felt like I had to wait for it to dry/soak in before I could get dress.

This isn’t a terrible product and if you’re on a tight budget it’s fine. For me it is just an ok product.

 

 LUXE:

20140619_173003[1]

Ro’s Argan Body Condition by Lush (RRP: $32.50/225g)

I think you all know by now how much I like anything rose scented and this does smell AMAZING. It has the same scent as the Rose Jam products from Lush. If you don’t like rose products you won’t want to get near this as the smell fills your entire bathroom. Which I love. Use it with the Godiva Solid Shampoo or Flying Fox Shower Gel to really get your bathroom smelling like flowers!

The consistency is thinner than the Nivea and little goes a long way. I made the mistake of using it like the Nivea one the first time I used it and hated it! So only use a very little bit and it feels much more luxurious that way too. It doesn’t feel as nice as Nivea when you wash it off. It has a balm like feel while skin is still wet and you can see the water beading on it. I didn’t like this feeling and it nearly put me off the product completely! Why doesn’t my skin feel instantly smooth? I thought.

However, when you step out of the shower and towel off skin feels lovely and smooth. No residue either which was much nicer than the Nivea Body Conditioner. Leaves your skin smelling amazing as well. I also noticed that after using it a few days in a row, I felt my skin really improved overall.

It does feel like a treat to use this product. The feel of it is really nice and it just smells wonderful.

 

To be honest, I really thought that the Nivea In- Shower Skin Conditioner would be the winner of the two products. Now after comparing it to Ro’s Argan Body Conditioner, I remember why I didn’t repurchase it the first time round. Like a cheap conditioner, it feels nice while you are in the shower, but it just doesn’t stay that way when you get out.

In this case, I would save up my money and buy the Luxe product : Ro’s Argan Body Conditioner.  I could really tell the difference in the quality of Lush’s Body Conditioner compared to Nivea’s version. I felt overall the Lush version  did much more for my skin. As well as the amazing scent. I would definitely repurchase this product.

 

Well there you are. My first Luxe VS Less post. I hope you enjoyed it 🙂 Let me know what you thought or any products that you would like to see me compare in the comments box below. Have an amazing day!!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

* Disclaimer* Although I am a big Lush fan, I am not paid to promote their products in any way. All products were purchased with my own money. This is my honest review of these products and all my own opinion.

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

