My Healthy Banana Bread

20140518_181613[1]

Hello Lovelies 🙂

A slightly different post today. I posted awhile back that I am trying to cut added/processed sugar from my diet. Which was going really well for me, until I got sick last week 😦  Sigh. I am back on the horse this week though! Because I was sick last week I had heaps of bananas left over and going brown. I didn’t want to waste them, so when I found this recipe on pinterest. I decided to give it a go. With a few tweaks of my own of course.

20140518_180350[1] My Healthy Banana Bread ( or My Almost Paleo Banana Bread)

If you want the original recipe just click the above link. This is the one that I made. You can do this in a food processor/mixer if you like, but I like to use a bowl & wooden spoon. Something very nice & rustic about baking that way.

Ingredients:

3 Bananas (over ripe), 3 eggs (Preferably free range), 1 tsp Vanilla extract, 1-2 tsp honey, 1/4 cup Coconut Oil, 1 1/2 cups SR Flour (or almond flour/meal), pinch of salt, 1/2 tsp baking soda and 1-2tsp cinnamon or to taste.

Method:

Mash the bananas in a bowl. Add Vanilla, Honey and Coconut oil and combine. Then add the eggs, one at a time until combined. Combine Flour, Salt, Baking soda & Cinnamon and add to wet ingredients. Stir together. Add more flour if needed.

Place into a lined loaf tin and bake at 160 -180 C (depending on your oven) for about 30mins or until a skewer comes out clean.

 

20140518_181551[1] Chocolate Version

I also made a chocolate version of this. Just omit the cinnamon and add approx. 2 TBS (or to taste)  of Raw Cocoa Powder instead. Add the cocoa powder after the flour.

I know the temperatures and times are not précis, but I don’t cook that way. (You might have noticed). I also don’t trust cooking times on recipe (just because ovens vary), so I always check on it before the time suggested. From memory I cooked mine at 180 C in my fan forced for about 30mins.

They do taste amazing though. I haven’t tried to many sugar free recipes like this and honestly I didn’t even notice that it didn’t have butter or sugar. They taste like they should! The chocolate one is my favourite. The Cocoa powder really gives it a nice rich chocolate hit that makes it feel indulgent.

This really is a nice easy recipe and you could add all sorts of things too it. Spices, nuts or even some berries. I think some raspberries in the chocolate one would be amazing!

You could also use Agave instead of honey. I think honey is a perfectly acceptable healthy alternative for sugar ( I use a Manuka Honey) but I’m not an expert and I’m sure some people will disagree. That’s ok 🙂 It’s small steps for me.

Anyway that is my first recipe post. I hope you enjoyed it.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

