Bellabox April 2014 Review

BellaboxIMG_2483[1]

I was really excited about getting this month’s Bellabox. When I saw the preview and found out that the Avon Mega Effects Mascara could be in the box… so excited! I was really looking forward to trying it. My first impressions on opening the box was that there were some good products to try.

For those of you unfamiliar, Bellabox is a monthly subscription where you get 5-6 beauty samples to try and then review on the website. You can also purchase the full sized items from there as well. I have been doing this for a few months and this was the one I was most excited about so far.

Bellabox has changed the packaging since I first starting subscribing and I have to say I really love it. It feels special to get the little blue and white box instead of just an ordinary cardboard post box. They are pretty cute and you can defiantly re-use them as there is little writing on the actual box.

In the box this month :

 

1. Burt’s Bees Beeswax Lip Balm (full size)

IMG_2486[1]  This was a full sized product which I was really impressed with. It has Vitamin E & Peppermint. Lots of Peppermint. If you do not like peppermint then I would steer clear. It gives your lips a tingly feeling, not unpleasant and the balm it’s self is nice.

I really want to like the Burt’s Bees products. I do. However nothing has won me over yet. This lip balm included. I would give another flavor a go. I just wasn’t a fan of the peppermint. It is a good product and I like I said I would give another flavor a go.

RRP: $7.95/8.5g  Available from Priceline and bellabox.com.au

 

2. Indio Eye Rise – Luxe   (sample size 5ml)

IMG_2493[1] I don’t have a lot to say about this product. I like the fact it has sunscreen and “concealing properties”. As a daytime eye cream I like it. Fine lines aren’t a big issue for me at this point in time, so I can’t say how well it works on that front. I won’t be rushing out to buy this, but something I would think about buying later down the track.

RRP: $67.20/15ml available from bellabox.com.au

 

3. Montage Jeunesse Dry Skin Mask – Essential (Full size product)

IMG_2487[1] I was a bit wary about using this mask. Just because I have sensitive skin and sometimes drugstore/pharmacy masks make my skin react a bit. It also had two parts, the mask and then a serum to use after.  It took a little for a simple person like me to decipher since most of the instructions are in French (?) and only 2 small diagrams that explain it all. The mask was nice. Creamy and lotion like. Lots of product in the packet, so I think you could probably get two uses out of it. Didn’t make my face start to react so yay! I was surprised. Smells faintly of berries. After I took it off my skin was nice and smooth and felt good.

I didn’t like the serum though. As soon as I put in on and started to massage it into my skin I had to take it off as my skin started to react to it. Oh the whole the mask was nice but I would be careful if you have sensitive skin. Personally I prefer the Lush Fresh Face Masks and would pay the extra for them as they are much better quality. 

RRP: $4.99/17g. Available at Priceline, Big W and selected Pharmacies

 

4. Vaseline Ultimate 10 Anti-Aging Body Lotion (25ml sample)

IMG_2484[1] I’m pretty sure I got a Vaseline sample a few months back. It’s a nice travel size sample and I do like Vaseline’s products. It just isn’t that exciting. I prefer the spray on moisturizer to be honest. Won’t be rushing out to buy this one.

RRP: $7.68/225ml Available at Priceline & Woolworths.

 

5. Avon Mega Effects Mascara – ( full sized product)

IMG_2492[1]IMG_2494[1]

I was really really excited about trying this product. Having seen it advertised all over the place. So I really wanted to love it and be wowed by it. Firstly trying to get the brush out of the container/holder is like a mini wrestling match. Which ends with me getting mascara all over my hand. This could just be the fact that I am a complete klutz. I do like how you can move the brush to different angles. It takes a bit of mastering and I am not there yet. Or that skilled if you haven’t picked up on that.

The big thing for me was that it took forever to dry. So kept getting it on my face. Sorry but I am a “bolt out the door once my make up is on” person. I don’t want to have to keep checking to make sure my mascara stays put. When it dried it was great. No clumps etc. So for me, it wasn’t a bad product but I don’t think I would purchase. I have other mascaras that I use that I think are better.

RRP: $19.95/9ml Available from avonmakeup.com.au

BONUS:

Revlon Nearly Naked Makeup

IMG_2489[1]IMG_2491[1]

I was not expecting to like this. I find it really hard to match makeup to my skin tone. Being pale, but not pasty pale, I’m always in the middle of colours. I know I can mix, but honestly I’m just to lazy. Besides I don’t like to wear heaps of makeup. There wasn’t enough of the sample to get a really good idea, but the colour seemed to match and it was a light coverage. I would definitely go out and buy the full sized product so I can really try it out. I liked how there was a few shades to choose from, even if 3 of them were waay to dark for me personally.

RRP: $25.95/30ml Available at Priceline

Overall, I wasn’t as “wowed” as I wanted to be. I would purchase the Burt’s Bees Lip balm and the Revlon Nearly Naked Make Up.  The others weren’t bad, but I have other products I prefer. Nice sample sizes as well.

What about you? Have you tried any of these products? What did you think? Anything you can recommend? I’d loved to here from you.

Have an amazing day 🙂

 

http://www.bellabox.com.au

http://www.priceline.com.au

http://www.avonmakeup.com.au

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

