Lush Haul #1 and Review

IMG_2440[1]

I am in love. I am in the first blissful stages of this crush and I have a feeling it is going to be an ongoing affair.

In the past I have been a little bit intimidated about going into a Lush store. I think a lot of people are. I also wasn’t aware of how much stuff they had. Here I was thinking it was all soap and bath bombs piled high in bright colorful towers. Which they are. However there is so much more.

I really love Lush’s attitude and all the products are made from locally or ethically sourced ingredients. No animal testing. They are made fresh by hand. Most of the products are “naked” (no packing) or in recycled, reusable packaging. My favorite part is that when you return 5 of the black pots to a store you get a free face mask.

Ok, Haul time!!

First up: Brightside Bubble Bar.

brightside bubble

I love this. It smells fantastic. Like a mandarin dream. It makes the bath a lovely bright orange colour with fantastic bubbles!! It was a limited edition for Easter, but it is available in the “Hello Sunshine” gift pack. I’ve heard rumors that this might become a permanent product and I really hope so. Skin feels lovely and soft. You can get more than one use out of it if you cut it into smaller pieces too!

RRP: ‘Hello Sunshine” gift pack $16.95.

 

Ocean Salt Facial Scrub: 

IMG_2469[1] “Does your face feel washed up and abandoned? Get it ship shape with coconuts and lime.”

This smells like Margarita. Need I say more? Margarita!! I thought that this would be quite a rough scrub but it’s actually quite creamy in texture. It is gentle enough for the face, but you can use it on your hot body too. It has sea salt (obviously), fresh lime, grapefruit infusion, Avocado butter and coconut oil as the main ingredients. It leaves your face feeling very smooth. I only use it once to twice a week.  It is now a staple in my skin care routine.

RRP: $22.50/120g, $34.95/250g

 

American Cream Conditioner:

IMG_2474[1] ” Bring all the boys to the yard with this strawberry vanilla milkshake conditioner. Double strength and extra creamy to leave your hair gorgeously soft and smelling sweet.”

I am definitely repurchasing this in the largest bottle they have. It smells divine. Not of strawberries so much. Mostly vanilla. Yum. The scent stays in your hair all day long too. Now if only I had long locks to swish around. It is a nice thick constancy and a little goes a long way. I’ve had the 100ml bottle for well over a month and I’m not even half way through. I wash my hair about every second day. It doesn’t feel instantly smooth and silky when you are in the shower because it doesn’t have the nasty stuff most conditioners have to make your hair feel that way. Once you dry your hair it feels lovely and soft.

RRP: $13.95/100ml, $23.50/250ml, $33.95/500ml

 

Wiccy Magic Muscle Massage Bar:

#lushcosmetics

Just what tired achy muscles need. This has a very strong cinnamon/peppermint/spicy scent. it reminds me of Tiger balm a little bit. The little brown bits are aduki beans to massage the sore spot. To use this you just let it melt a little in your hands then massage into skin. It does work well, but if you have really sore achy muscles then you are probably better off using tiger balm etc. For a relaxing massage bar this is very nice.

RRP: $14.95/70g

SAMPLES:

Yes if you ask the lovely people who work at lush for a sample or two, they will oblige you. Which I love, because these are not the cheapest of products and it’s nice to know you have the right one. I tried the following:

Dark Angels Cleanser: I liked this product, but it’s really for oily skin and mine is combination. So it was a little bit too much for my skin. I would recommend this for oily skin.

RRP: $16.95/100g, $42.47/250g.

Coal Face Cleansing Soap: Much to harsh for my skin. Again this one is for oily skin. I preferred the Dark Angels Cleanser to this one. Not something I would purchase.

RRP: $15.95/100g

Blousey Shampoo: This is a gentle shampoo for damaged, fine and colour treated hair. It smells amazing. It has real bananas in it and has a very thick consistency. I can’t really describe what it smells like, kind of spicy. I liked it. I really wanted to love this shampoo, but I didn’t. I liked it. It was nice, but I think my hair is a bit on the oily side for this one. I have tried a few other Lush Shampoos since and I have liked them better. That’s just my personal preference though. This is still a good product. It just wasn’t right for my hair. If you have dry or damaged hair though, this might work for you.

RRP: $25.95/240g

Well that’s it for my first haul. Not the last time you will here me harp on about Lush though. I do like to harp on….

What about you? Have you tried any of these products from Lush? What did you think?

If you want more information about Lush the link is below.

http://www.lush.com.au

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

4 thoughts on “Lush Haul #1 and Review

  1. The Brightside bubble bar just smells delicious! Another fantastic product of theirs for combination skin is the Mask of Magnaminty. It exfoliates, reduces redness and cleans out pores. Looking forward to more posts 🙂

    Like

  2. You got some lovely bits! I think Brightside is going permanent, which is fantastic 😀 I wanted to love Blousey too, but it doesn’t work for me either… So I bought the Flowers Barrow perfume, which has the same scent! (and Sun is the same as Brightside, too) 🙂

    Like

  3. I’ve heard that and I am so excited! It’s been my favourite so far. I was a little bummed about Blousey. Though I really like Cynthia Sylvia Stout. Thanks for the info on the perfumes 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

